Shrink

FROM PAGE B1

in 1749.

Carved out in 1767, Dover Township included present-day Manchester, Berkeley, Lacey, Lakewood, Jackson and Plumsted townships, part of Brick Township, and the boroughs of Island Heights, Beachwood, South Toms River, Ocean Gate and Pine Beach.

Howell Township was formed in 1801. Its own progeny would include Wall Township and the boroughs of Farmingdale, Belmar, Manasquan, Spring Lake, Sea Girt, Brielle, South Belmar and Spring Lake Heights.

Atlantic Township, which later changed its name to Colts Neck, left in 1847.

Ocean Township, created in 1849, later gave rise to Eatontown, Oceanport, West Long Branch, Neptune Township, Neptune City, Bradley Beach, Asbury Park, Avon, Ocean Grove, Sea Bright, Deal, Long Branch, Monmouth Beach, Interlaken and Loch Arbour.

The process didn't stop after the 19th century.

Shrewsbury broke off in 1926, and New Shrewsbury, which later changed its name to Tinton Falls, left in 1950.

All that was left of Shrewsbury Township was less than a square mile of military housing built for nearby Fort Monmouth— an enclave of three roads with a single entrance off of Shrewsbury Avenue. Today the tiny township has a population of slightly more than 1,000.

The final separation came with a twist on a slogan from the Revolutionary War.

According to Joyce Fertig, deputy Shrewsbury Township historian, New Shrewsbury property owners resented that residents of the base housing did not have to pay property taxes.

For a town that was already old when the battle cry "No taxation without representation" rang out, the final cut came with the cry of "No representation without taxation."